1. News

Solar Eclipse of December 4, 2021: All You Need to Know

The last solar eclipse 2021 will take place on December 4. People living in countries that lie in the southern hemisphere will be able to fully experience this eclipse.

Abin Joseph
Image Of A Solar Eclipse
Image Of A Solar Eclipse

The last solar eclipse 2021 will take place on December 4. People living in countries that lie in the southern hemisphere will be able to fully experience this eclipse. 

The prime location of Solar Eclipse 2021 

The prime location for the complete phase of the eclipse this time is the continent of Antarctica. According to NASA The partial phase of the eclipse starts at 12:30 pm Indian Standard time (IST) (0700 GMT), the nearly two-minute totality phase — when the moon completely blocks out the sun — starts at 1:03 pm IST (0733 GMT), and the whole eclipse ends at 1:36 pm IST  (0806 GMT).

Viewers will see a partial solar eclipse in regions where the three celestial bodies aren't perfectly aligned. A partial solar eclipse will be visible in Saint Helena, Namibia, Lesotho, South Africa, South Georgia and Sandwich Islands, Crozet Islands, Falkland Islands, Chile, New Zealand, and Australia. 

Many spectators will require a good view of the horizon to watch the solar eclipse because it will occur before, during, and after dawn or sunset in various areas. A live webcam will broadcast the solar eclipse to India and the rest of the northern hemisphere. Nasa will live stream a view of the complete solar eclipse from Union Glacier, Antarctica on YouTube and at nasa.gov/live, weather permitting. The webcast will begin at 1:30 a.m. EST (12 p.m. IST) and finish at 3:37 a.m. (2.07 pm IST). 

Surya Grahan 2021

A solar eclipse happens when the Moon casts a shadow over a section of the Earth, blocking sunlight completely or partially. When the Sun, Moon, and Earth are all aligned, this happens. The disc of the Sun is completely hidden by the Moon during a total eclipse. Only a portion of the Sun is veiled in partial and annular eclipses. 

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters